CYAA annual Deanbilla Bay Pursuit

click on image  for large high resolution view

The Deanbilla Bay Classic Yacht race was first run in 2001.  The event arose out of the suggestion that we have an event in December as a pre-Christmas social gathering for the classic yacht group.  The course selected was from a start between Mud Island and St Helena Island relatively central in Moreton Bay then sailing south of Peel Island and then Goat Island and finishing in Deanbilla Bay on North Stradbroke Island, a distance of some 15 nautical miles.  The finish was selected to facilitate a gathering on the beach for drinks and presentation of trophies and to watch the sunset.  Most boats anchor for the night and return home on the Sunday.  The first three races were a fleet start but from 2004 onwards the event has been a handicap start pursuit race. This has been a deliberate strategy to encourage smaller (and slower) yachts who rarely find themselves at the front of the fleet and inexperienced skippers who don’t like mixing it with large and much faster vessels on a crowded starting line.  Over the years we have had some exciting finishes and on a number of occasions the whole fleet has been in the last mile of the course when the first boat crossed the line.   The event’s impressive lighthouse trophy has a close relationship to a very well known locally built classic timber yacht , Laurabada . This Ketch was both designed and built by the late Ivan Holm (Snr.), who was  a significant contributor to yacht racing in Queensland over his lifetime. The perpetual trophy is lighthouse made from up-cycled materials that became available during the first major phase of Laurabada’s restoration (1999-2000).  The tower of the lighthouse is laminated Queensland maple sections from Laurabada’s cabin sides which were replaced during that restoration on top of which stands a bronze Herreshoff pattern halyard winch topped by a bronze caged riding light. The trophy was built  by Laurabada’s owner Ivan Holm (Jnr.).

2014 winner Wraith of Odin  Keith Glover  2014 report here

2014 images and videos here

The winners of the race to date are: –




Tasman Seabird

Peter & Linda Kerr.




Dan Miller


Maria Van Dieman

S&S 35

Garry Blackburn


Four Winds

Gaff Ketch ? Randall

Gary Bradshaw



Holm Snr designed ketch

Ivan Holm


Four Winds

Gaff Ketch ? Randall

Gary Bradshaw



Tasman Seabird

Peter & Linda Kerr


Merry Mac


Tony Holm



Tasman Seabird

Peter & Linda Kerr


Tom Thumb

Frances 26

Paul Aroney



Robert Clark ‘Favona’

Stuart & Maris Stubbs


Wraith of Odin

J G Alden 0823 (Malabar family)

Keith Glover

Site donated and maintained by TBQ Services tbq-service-web