Moreton Bay Classics’ Series (2014_2015)


Season 2014-2015 sees the first Moreton Bay Classics’ Annual Point Score Series

Traditional Boats Qld. will provide a year long race  season point score
 combining the results from the regattas hosted by:
Moreton Bay Yacht Club, October the 11th and 12th 2014,
The Wynnum Manly Yacht Club  21st and 22nd of March 2015.
The Queensland Cruising Yacht Club Vintage Regatta in June 2015.

The MBYC and the WMYC regattas are open to modern yachts but have defined Classic divisions. The third regatta is the dedicated annual Classics’s event conducted for almost 40 years by QCYC , the Vintage Regatta also familiarly referred to as the gaffers.

TBQ will calculate a year’s points score for classics that enter in the QCYC VR and one of both of the other regattas. The three regattas will provided a total of 9 races. The point score calculation apply the low score method to placings within each regatta fleet. The handicap results will be provided by the individual organising race committee . The score will allow for two discards .

The value of a DNF and a DNS for the series calculation will be allocated at the commencement of the years final regatta.

TBQ will provide two division results: Division 1 (higher phrf) and Division 2 (lower phrf.) If interest and participation warrant a third division for Yachts LOA less than 5.5 m ( 18 ft). may be added. Consistent with the aims and objectives of TBQ each division will be inclusive of pre 1973 classic yacht designs and “spirit of tradition” yachts. While there are some fin keel racing designs of the early 1970s that do satisfy the entry criteria owners should be aware that handicaps for these designs will err on the harsh side. The cut off of phrf will be between Div 1 and 2 will be approximately 0.800 which typically corresponds to a 32ft LOA long keel yacht. Divisional allocation can be negotiated with the handicapper.

The TBQ readership’s responses to our Spring 2014 survey were pivotal to creating the series. I would like to thank the respective clubs for their strong support.

Series Results

Div 1

First Wraith of Odin

2nd Skirmish

3rd Balamara

Div 2

First Nereid

2nd Tom Thumb

3rd Jason

4th (same point score as 3rd) Lyla.


Any questions about the Moreton Bay Classics’  Series here


Site donated and maintained by TBQ Services tbq-service-web